Old and new

Some of my dear readers have likely played Dark Souls. This article by Josh W makes a very interesting connection between Dark Souls and the Book of the New Sun series by Gene Wolfe. Having read the first book of this series and watched the game, the comparison strikes me as quite apt. I really need to start reading the second book in the BOTNS series.

Res Studiorum et Ludorum

claw of the

Looks like my blog completely bypassed the octave of Christmas, leaving my Dickens audiobook hanging. Perhaps next year I’ll get around to the second stave of A Christmas Carol. It’s still not quite over yet, so – Merry Christmas!

Speaking of unfulfilled tasks, I’ve begun re-reading The Book of the New Sun. Anyone who’s spent some time on this blog knows that this book means a lot to me. So much so that I began a chapter by chapter exegesis a year or so ago. My hope is that this re-read will help prime me to resume that project.

View original post 449 more words

2 comments on “Old and new

  1. Josh W says:

    Thanks for the reblog!

    Like

Legens, scribe sententias tuas.

