Nickelodeon

This sounds like an interesting manga. I might have to try it out–especially since it’s reminiscent of Azumanga Daioh.

Contemporary Japanese Literature

Nickelodeon Blue

Title: Nickelodeon
Japanese Title: ニッケルオデオン (Nikkeruodeon)
Artist: Dowman Sayman (道満 清明)
Publisher: Shōgakukan (小学館)
Publication Dates: 11/2010 – 10/2014
Volumes: 3 (赤・緑・青)

I sometimes feel as if I’ve spent the past ten years of my life trying to find another Azumanga Daioh: a set of girl-centric stories that are weird and funny and touching without being male gazey. I love Azumanga Daioh‘s cute artwork and bizarre situations and perfect ratio of dark to sweet humor. Having read my way across a large swath of its many, many imitators, I’ve come to the conclusion that Azumanga Daioh is one of a kind. But I’ve found something close, yet different – and just as enjoyable.

Dowman Sayman’s Nickelodeon series is, on the surface, nothing like Azumanga Daioh. Each of the manga’s stand-alone stories is exactly eight pages long; and, aside from a few inconsequential crossover references, they…

View original post 669 more words

2 comments on “Nickelodeon

  1. What a coincidence, I downloaded this series for my Kindle just yesterday evening! Reading this article has me looking forward to it even more, so thanks for sharing! 😀

    Like

    • You’re welcome! Contemporary Japanese Literature is an interesting blog, and I found myself drawn in by her comparison of this series with Azumanga Daioh. I hope that your thoroughly enjoy it!

      Like

Legens, scribe sententias tuas.

