Drosselmeyer Tea

A little detail caught my attention in Princess Tutu: Drosselmeyer favors a blend of tea he apparently made himself.  It consists of three parts Darjeeling and one part Assam.  Those of you who’ve followed this blog a long time know me for a tea connoisseur–at least, I am when I can afford to be.  One of the earliest posts on this blog was on Kakuzo Okakura’s The Book of Tea.  I’m a big fan of tea varietals but will drink blends also, especially English, Scotch, or Irish Breakfast tea.  English Breakfast tea is formed by Assam, Ceylon, and Kenyan teas, Irish is stronger because it uses teas from Assam almost exclusively, and Scottish the strongest with the strongest varieties from Asia–even sometimes adding the pine-fired Lapsang Souchong.

sinister-drosselmeyer

Drosselmeyer’s blend strikes me as an attempt to beef up the fruity and flowery notes of Darjeeling with the malty flavor of Assam.  The Darjeeling and Assam I used are both available from Tattle Tea, an importer favoring high value in their teas.  Sadly, I was not impressed by my blend of Drosselmeyer tea: the Assam muted the red fruit notes of the Darjeeling, and the Darjeeling muddled the brisk flavor of the Assam.  Not surprisingly, Upton Tea Imports, which has the greatest variety of tea I’ve seen anywhere, does not contain a blend of Assam and Darjeeling–either among the breakfast tea or among the afternoon tea.  Darjeeling was blended successfully with other varietals though.  (I heartily recommend Baker Street Blend–despite the low rating someone gave it.)

duck-distressed

So, now I have a vision of Drosselmeyer writing for decades drinking dull and tepid tea–not wonder his personality became twisted.

2 comments on “Drosselmeyer Tea

  1. Foxfier says:

    and Scottish the strongest with the strongest varieties from Asia–even sometimes adding the pine-fired Lapsang Souchong.

    *sigh*

    Why am I not surprised that the folks who put bog moss in their whiskey will put pine smoke in their tea?

    Like

    • So true. Apparently, the Scottish blend developed because it worked better with the hard water of Scotland than other tea blends. As for Scotch, I myself am a much bigger fan of the sherry cask matured Speyside whiskies than the peety Islay ones–though, the latter are currently more popular.

      Like

Legens, scribe sententias tuas.

