Rating the Anime of Summer 2015 and A New Watch List

As usual, I find myself late to the party when it comes to posting my ratings for the past season.  However, I have already given my opinions of Gangsta! (here), Wakako-zake (here), and Arslan Senki and Aoharu x Kikanjuu (here).  This leaves two anime from my old watch list not reviewed by me, and the post will describe my opinions of them.  But, let me list my ratings of the other four below:

vlcsnap-2015-09-18-17h31m33s421

  1. Arslan Senki ★★★★1/2
  2. Gangsta ★★★★
  3. Aoharu x Kikanjuu★★★1/2
  4. Wakako-zake ★★★

 

 

And here are my opinions of Gate and Rokka no Yuusha:

Rori

1) Gate ★★★

When I rate a show three stars, it means that I enjoyed the show and might watch it again, even though it strikes me as rather flawed.  The plot is rather weak.  They introduce us to a plot which involves political intrigue and war on a grand scale only for it to turn into a harem show in the middle and poor political intrigue at the end. (Or am I too prejudiced against it because I’ve been watching Legend of Galactic Heroes?)  The battles held little interest for me because they were one-sided slaughters, with the exception of the fight at the hot springs.  (At least, it felt like Rori might be in mortal danger.)  That left the animation and characters to pick up the slack.  I think that they did: the show is filled with lovable characters, and the animation pretty top notch for a TV series.  Our hero stands out for being a very capable soldier and yet a laid-back otaku at the same time.  Our harem feels rather standard; though, Rori stands out because her being an immortal actually influences her personality.  Very often, a show or a book will have a god or immortal and then have them act in the same way as regular human beings; so, I liked this facet about her.  Jusuchin, the most avid blogger for this series, has declared that the manga promises a much more exciting second season, so I shall stick around for that.

Girl with gun

2) Rokka no Yuusha ★★★★

My opinion of this show fluctuated over the course of its broadcast.  The initial episodes struck me as somewhat interesting, Flamie’s curious history and motivations increased my estimation of the show, and the debacle over the Seventh annoyed me until I found myself strangely wrapped in this intrigue and eager for this mystery to be unraveled.  I have noted that the fantasy setting, even with the traditional good vs. evil plot, stood out by its resemblances to Incan civilization.  Our hero’s presumption grated on me at first, but I grew to love his never-say-die attitude, resourcefulness, and loyalty to his companions.  Call me a sap, but Adlet’s perseverance in trying to melt Flamie’s heart, a heart long since frozen by betrayal and nihilism, was also endearing.

RnY

*Spoilers* Following Marthaurion of Marth’s Anime Blog‘s opinion, I agreed that Nashetania and Maura appeared the most likely candidates for the Seventh.  However, if it was Nashetania, I supposed noble motives–that she, as a princess and the Saint of Blades, felt that she ought to have a hand in defending her kingdom, and so impersonated the identity of a Rokka no Yuusha.  When Maura lied about Hans’s condition and Nashetania snapped, I thought that the Seventh was Maura for sure.  Then, Adlet’s perfect analysis of the situation and the actually evil motives of Nashetania gave me quite a surprise.  Can’t wait for the next season!

Having dropped Concrete Revolutio and a trite magic high school anime, the following is my watch list  for the Fall 2015 season with a few opinions on them:

book10

1) Anti-Magic Academy: The 35th Test Platoon

The quirky and deep main characters of this anime soon earned the show a place in my heart.  We have seen magical academies many times over, which demands that creators of new magic academy anime be extra inventive.   Anti-Magic Academy achieved this solely by dint of its characters.  They strike me by their inability to work cohesively as similar to Team Rabbits in Majestic Prince, but there was plenty of divergence from their personalities.  In particular, Ikaruga Suginami, with her laid-back ways and cigarette always between her lips, reminded me of Himehagi of Geobreeders.

Geobreeders

If you want to watch a couple of fun OVAs, I highly recommend Geobreedersthough there is brief nudity–not as much as in the manga, but it’s still there.  I’ll admit to becoming obsessed over the series, buying all five volumes released in English and them ordering a nine volume set in the original Japanese from the Land of the Rising Sun itself.  It remains unfinished as the mangaka stopped writing in 2009 due to a certain illness.  I still pray occasionally that he will overcome it and start drawing Geobreeders again, but that wish might be as futile as Hemingway’s fancy of grinding the bones of T. S. Eliot into a fine powder and strewing it over Joseph Conrad’s grave to bring about that Polish master’s resurrection.  But, I digress.

Skull

2) Beautiful Bones – Sakurako’s Investigation

This show reminds me of an anime with a similar title: Ryoko’s Case Files.–a fun thirteen episode horror and fantasy crime series.  Yet, in Beautiful Bones, our duo consists not of a strong woman and her reluctantly obedient subordinate but a petulant eccentric who often demurs to a level-headed high schooler of whom she’s fond.  Each episode contain strong tension and suspense which draw the viewer along, and I’m really enjoying it.  I just wish that Sakurako’s powers of deduction were not given the aura of a super power.

vlcsnap-2015-10-22-12h42m40s551

3) Heavy Object

This strikes me as the Argevollen of this season, which reminds me that I need to finish that show.  The concept of Heavy Objects, essentially miniature Death Stars, determining the outcome of wars and rendering conventional warfare useless strikes me as interesting.  Will they really limit human casualties as the characters suppose?

Quick!  Get the Holy Hand Grenade of Antioch!

Quick! Get the Holy Hand Grenade of Antioch!

4) Noragami Aragoto

The focus on the conflict between Yato and Bishamon intrigues me, while the additional fanservice annoys me.  Why change the ambiance of a good, solid show?  When Full Metal Panic: The Second Raid turned Freudian, the franchise rapidly went down hill.  But, hopefully, the change in mood will not cause Noragami Aragoto a rapid fall.  As of writing this, I’ve only seen one episode.

perfIns

5) The Perfect Insider (aka Subete ga F ni Naru)

The insertion of the three major philosophical questions instantly raises this show to be one of the most intellectual of the season.  I’m curious to see where it takes us.

Uta

6) Utawarerumono: Itsuwari no Kamen

The original (#16 on my top 50 list) is a masterpiece of genre combination: fantasy, sci-fi, war, harem, mecha, supernatural, dystopian future, and likely others.  It’s sequel has not become as epic as the predecessor, nor does it have an addictive opening song, but I’m enjoying it so far.

There you have my six choices for this season, to which One Punch Man might be added.  What are my dear readers watching?

 

8 comments on “Rating the Anime of Summer 2015 and A New Watch List

  1. Nami says:

    While I’m still mainly watching kdramas, I’m watching this new season of Noragami (I was very excited to hear it was getting a second season!). I haven’t finished the first episode yet, but I too am already annoyed by the fanservice. So far it’s just little things, nothing terribly in your face besides Bishamon (maybe that’ll change once I finish the episode…). On the bright side: this arc should be interesting – I’ve gone to the bookstore and read up to the most recent English language volume of the manga, so I’m interested to see how faithful the anime will keep to it.

    Like

    • The first episode does promise interesting things to come. The studio must have gotten the notion that giving panty shots of the heroine and making Bishamon a casual nudist would increase ratings, which is a shame. But, I hope that they never go too far with that–having Bishamon as Miss Fanservice is more than enough. 🙂 You really need to finish that episode!

      Like

  2. jubilare says:

    “What are my dear readers watching?” Well, you already know the answer to this question, or what I just finished watching, at least.

    Like

    • Yes, I do. 🙂 I need to find time to finish watching FMA: Brotherhood. It’s so hard to sit through the first half because I’m impatient to see the new material. But, it’s still fun seeing what they change or cut out from the original FMA.

      Liked by 1 person

      • jubilare says:

        How far have you gotten? It seems as if they rather sped through the stuff covered by the first part of the original anime in order to get to the “new” material. I begin to thing that I would love to see some hybrid of the two, with the more fleshed-out beginning from the first anime melded too the conclusions of the second.

        Like

      • Seventeen episodes. I’m watching it with a friend of mine, and we haven’t been able to see it in a while. I hope to remedy that soon or go it alone. A hybrid of the two shows might be nice, except that I’d be offended by the thought that they were trying to milk FMA even more than it has been. So, I probably wouldn’t see it on principle. I almost didn’t watch the new Evangelion OVAs for that reason, but I’m happy that I did.

        Liked by 1 person

      • jubilare says:

        Well, I hope you get around to reviewing it one of these days!

        Nay, I didn’t mean yet a third anime, nor a re-release or anything. I mean, as a fan, taking both series and figuring out how two fit them together (where to stop watching the first one and start up the second). 🙂 The tricky part would be figuring out where the characterizations diverge, because several of the characters are fundamentally different people (not to mention the ones that aren’t present in both). But all of this would be for someone who has more time on their hands than I do.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. […] also blame Medieval Otaku for the one I intend to blog about. He can ruddy well guess which one. […]

    Like

Legens, scribe sententias tuas.

