The night I outran my demons

This is a very interesting conversion story. A good reminder of the importance of confession also.

by Dr John Morrissey at the Catholic Herald

As a young doctor on a cancer ward, I consoled myself with drink and New Age nonsense. Then one evening I stepped into a chamber of horrors

Looking back over my 29 years as a medic, I think my year at the cancer hospital was the hardest. Every fourth day and weekend without fail, I would cover the intensive care unit for 24 hours as the resident middle-grade doctor. In all my time there, not one patient survived, though not for lack of trying. Not one.

The thing they all had in common was that their bone marrow had been suppressed by cancer-killing chemotherapy and they had then succumbed to overwhelming infection. Admission to intensive care, full resuscitation with intubation, ventilation, IV fluids and powerful cardiac stimulants were all to no…

View original post 1,971 more words

2 comments on “The night I outran my demons

  1. This story reminds me of my paternal grandfather, someone who doesn’t believe in God, who thinks that there’s no afterlife, who thinks that Hell is on Earth. His life was a really tough life, basically, but still, my family, especially my parents, prays for him. He’s a pretty stubborn guy, so I guess the best I can do is pray to God while trying to understand him and then show that I and even he can live a happier life, a life that he never managed to have much when he was younger. And honestly, it hurts to watch him be foolish (For example, he blames the Spanish for making the Filipinos corrupt) but I still want him to meet improvement, and, again, difficulty should be expected on the path of improvement. God Almighty help us.

    Like

Legens, scribe sententias tuas.

