Three Day Quote Challenge – Day One

I’d like to thank akkoanime for challenging me to this contest.  Be sure to look at her blog, especially to see the quote she chose for day three.  It’s perhaps the wisest utterance ever made in Avatar, and delivered by its best character.  Anyway, here are the rules:

  • Post one quotation a day for three days (they can be from other sources or one of your own).
  • Nominate 3 other bloggers to participate per post.
  • Thank the blogger who nominated you.

Theodore Roosevelt as Governor

Quote for the First Day

It is not the critic who counts; not the man who points out how the strong man stumbles, or where the doer of deeds could have done them better. The credit belongs to the man who is actually in the arena, whose face is marred by dust and sweat and blood; who strives valiantly; who errs, who comes short again and again, because there is no effort without error and shortcoming; but who does actually strive to do the deeds; who knows great enthusiasms, the great devotions; who spends himself in a worthy cause; who at the best knows in the end the triumph of high achievement, and who at the worst, if he fails, at least fails while daring greatly, so that his place shall never be with those cold and timid souls who neither know victory nor defeat.

–Theodore Roosevelt

Theodore Roosevelt is often moving and inspiring, but the above quote is one of those moments where he hits the sublime.  That the last clause appears to refer to the evil angels who refused to take sides in Dante’s Inferno makes it even better.

My three nominees are as follows:

  1. Animecommentary of Anime Commentary on the March
  2. Feidor S. LaView
  3. Thompdjames of The Dusty Thanes

I hope those gentlemen will be able to participate at some point, because I’m sure that they have some interesting quotes they can mention.

 

12 comments on “Three Day Quote Challenge – Day One

  1. Jo-Shu says:

    When I saw the photo, I thought it was G. K. Chesterton until I read the quote. Silly me. 😛

    • TR almost does look like GKC there. I know that there’s a picture of Chesterton in a similar attitude. I just might include a quote from Chesterton later in this series.

      By the way, have you seen that I’ve nominated you for the Creative Blogger Award? https://medievalotaku.wordpress.com/2015/09/03/creative-blogger-award/

      • Jo-Shu says:

        Yeah, I saw that. Not sure what that is, but thanks. Not sure how much longer I’ll be blogging, though… My favorite quote from Chesterton: “Without education, we are in danger of taking educated people seriously.” Or something close to that. The man is endlessly quoteable.

      • Basically, the Creative Blogger Award is part of a chain of awards given to writers with unique blogs. I hope that you don’t stop blogging, but I can understand how blogging can seem strangely stressful at times.

        I think that I just saw that Chesterton quote! It’s from Eugenics and Other Evils, right? Chesterton might have more brilliant quotes than Samuel Johnson–and that’s saying something!

      • Jo-Shu says:

        I think it came from one of his essays in the Illustrated London News (not sure though, I’d have to do some fact-checking). As an aside, one of the reasons I love Deus Ex is because it lets you read part of “The Man Who Was Thursday.” The only game I know of that extensively quotes G. K. Chesterton.

      • Wow, that’s pretty cool. Would that there were more games like Deus Ex!

        I searched Eugenics and Other Evil and did not come up with the quote. Maybe Chesterton said something which struck me as similar. But, pass along the title of the essay if you find it.

  2. Nice, I always did like that quote.

  3. animecommentary says:

    Wow, thank you for the nomination! 😀 Teddy Roosevelt is quite quotable and inspiring, if I say so myself.

  4. […] must thank Medieval Otaku for this nice challenge – imagine the possibilities with this. He quoted Teddy Roosevelt in […]

  5. […] now, here’s my final post for the Three-Day Quote Challenge! Again, I thank Medieval Otaku very much for tagging me! I highly recommend checking out his posts for Day 2 and Day 3 of his shot […]

Legens, scribe sententias tuas.

