A Post of TWWK’s You Should Read and Some Rambling

Though I dropped Your Lie in April, what people are writing about it intrigues me.  TWWK of Beneath the Tangles wrote an excellent reflective post on episode six, and I recommend Your Lie in April Episode 6: Changing Seasons to all my dear readers.

aprillie

Until I reblogged that post incorrectly, I was going to leave it at that; but since I have already written at length, why not continue to ramble?  I had mentioned previously that I’ve entered the next round of the Athanatos Christian Ministries Writing Contest.  They provide a helping hand to any author who writes a good novel.  At this point, the judges become editors and help one to polish one’s novel so that it can become as well-written as possible by the time the final judging occurs.  And, the editor–at least so far–kindly and helpfully criticizes the novel.  So, here’s my encouragement to the Christian fiction writers among you to try your hand at next year’s contest.

vlcsnap-2014-11-03-00h35m54s34

Looking at Amira, I cannot help but be reminded of what Charles II said to his two friends who accompanied his betrothed, a princess of Portugal, back to England: “Gentlemen, you have brought me a bat.”

 

One of my dear readers was curious about how Shingeki no Bahamut pulled of its combination of Christian and pagan mythos.  As of episode five, the combination intrigues rather than offends me.  I think that it describes pagan gods and devils pretty well, though I imagine angels a little differently.  When it comes to St. Joan of Arc, iblessall says that its the most accurate anime representation of the saint she has ever seen.  I’ll take her word for it as I also imagine St. Joan of Arc to have been a courageous and rather serious individual from what I’ve heard about her.  The show has made me more interested in that person and reminds me that I must read Mark Twain’s biography of her–by all accounts, the greatest biography of the saint ever penned.  All in all, the combination of pagan and Christian lends an epic and fantastic feel to the anime which has worked out well.

vlcsnap-2014-11-07-12h52m20s122

I have no idea where Inou Battle Within Everyday Life is going, but the show is still great for a few laughs.  The characters are particularly endearing.  I am happy that Hitsugi no Chaika seems to have more focus this season.  You already know my opinion of Akatsuki no Yona and I Can’t Understand What My Husband is Saying.  Now, I ought to spend the rest of the night getting caught up with the rest.  Cheers!

8 comments on “A Post of TWWK’s You Should Read and Some Rambling

  1. David A says:

    The main problem with Bahamut, is the “Angels vs devils, vs “chaos”” plot. Putting something more beyond devils… a recent trend I’ve seen, and it has its own page on tvtropes. Also, the character design of some angels, having them with female appareances and immodest clothing.

    It reminds me a bit of Shaman King, a series that made a rather New Age styl syncretism, with Jesus, as just one person more, but that achieved certain divinity with winning the Shaman Tournament, he is in a shared “pantheon” with Buda, and other characters. I knew about that just when finishing the series. The topic is not touched explicitly in the series, from what I remember. But in the sequel manga, is more present.

    The Angels protrayed there, have a mecha look. The mangaka has a very interesting style and aesthetics for mecha design… and why they look like that? they are the spirits of cars, and machinery. Later, it was retconned in a encyclopedia as being the fusion of the spirits of cars, and the spirits of the true Angels they represent.

    The theology of that series, is really messed up. And having the “Christian” characters on the original run getting the short sick, was offensive (in the manga, the Angels are shown as spirits of cars, no mention of the retconned plot, while the other teams have more “authentic” deities and spirits).

    The concept of God of that series is more of a impersonal, quasi gnostic deity too.

    Your Lie in April is looking like a very interesting series, sadly the author included these words from occult books in Kaori imploration in ep. 2, before her recital. I get that they are fascinated by western stuff, but choosing precisely that? anyways, I dropped the series after that part.

    Inou Battle is a unconventional harem. The fanservice is limited compared to similar shows, the portagonist is more likable and less flat, and the girls are cute and have various characteristics. (My favorites for the moment, being Tomoyo and Mirei).

    I hope you do well in that writing contest.

    Like

    • Thanks! I don’t see the realm of chaos just just in the Shingeki no Bahamut anime. (Perhaps I am an inattentive watcher?) Right now, it seems like the gods are a little above the humans and basically removed from their affairs unless people seek them out. The Knights of Orleans are certainly fighting the devils, while the angels are trying to prevent the resurgence of Bahamut. (Of course, in really, they would not have to try very hard, but then the story would be less exciting.) I assume that the devils and Bahamut are on the same side.

      Shaman King’s bad Christology shows how much Arian concepts are alive and well! Oh, well, what can we expect from pagans? Concerning the impersonal diety of that show, some people have a hard time showing divine agency and then making the story exciting. There are few Tolkiens among mangaka!

      I do like that they give the hero of Inou Battle more flavor than is often seen. Too many series favor a bland protagonist surrounded by much more interesting female characters. Akame ga Kiru, a favorite of mine, does just that same thing.

      At any rate, Hatoko and Mirei are my favorite characters from that show so far; though, I expect that I might like Sayumi more if the show focused more on her character. As a former judo and aikido student, I can easily identify with her, and she does seem to be the only literature club member who actually reads–at least, in the club room.

      Like

      • David A says:

        I mentioned the category of “chaos”, because is a recurrent theme in that trope, but basically, that points as a third faction that even demons have to deal with. So, in this series, Bahamut is one of them? nor another “faction”? that would improve the show, then. Still, the truce between Angels, humans and demons looks rather absurd. Or the female angels (with canonical names, in the case of various of them… and that Michael wearing these stockings…).

        If they want to get creative with depictions of Angels, why someone doesn’t try to portray “Ángeles arcabuceros”? (arquebusier Angels).

        In productions like this, or in other anime, the problem is that the fantasy world has many real things, but they mess up some points, and that males them more jarring.

        Not even Arian, in Shaman King is more along the lines of the New Age concept of some enlightened persons that ascend to a higher, divine status. In this case, the titular Shaman King, so, in that series, every 500 years, the winner of the tournament, gets to obtain the power of the Great Spirit, the impersonal deity of that world, that is the fusion of many spirits. The Shaman King then, becomes a part of a “pantheon” of sorts, with the previous Shaman Kings.

        I think that when a series is better researched like that one, is worse, because they could know better.

        Yes, they are breaking the mold.

        Regarding Sayumi, there was a recent episode dedicated to her. They reveal something about her backstory, but they don’t mention why she “ships” the protagonist with his best male friend.

        Like

      • So far, the anime has done away with sexy angels, which, as much as beautiful women are often compared with them, is a good thing. 🙂

        Actually, the way Shaman King talks about people attaining a divine status sounds rather like a combination of Pelagian and Arian heresies. Bad ideas seem to come around again and again, don’t they?

        I’m looking forward to that episode of Inou Battle. I suspect Sayumi’s shipping is a product of the post-modern age in which we live, which does not place any bounds on pleasure. Still, she’s a fun character, even if inclined to lascivious literature.

        Like

      • David A says:

        So, they changed their clothings? Then the pics of the wiki are outdated?

        Yes, pelagian too. I remembered to mention something about the Christian team, while the majority of them has these mechanical Angel hybrids as their spirits, the leader of the team has a sumerian sun deity… and is a little girl called Jeanne.

        I think they missed an opportunity to explain that, is quite contrasting to her image of a “Yamato Nadeshiko”.

        Like

  2. TWWK says:

    Thank you, sir!

    Like

  3. […] since this book was submitted to Athanatos Christian Ministries’ 2015 Novel Contest and made the semi-finals.  As such, it has received extensive editing by one of the contest judges and by yours […]

    Like

Legens, scribe sententias tuas.

