Fall 2014 Anime to Try Out

It is that time of the year when people across the aniblogosphere write about which new anime excite them most.  I myself thoroughly enjoyed the present season–despite feeling the need to prune my watch list–and hope that the next season produces an equally enjoyable a crop of anime.  Many bloggers seem to be disappointed with the current season in general, but the fault seems to lie in certain shows not meeting the expectations the bloggers placed in them.  What I mean to say is that the majority of shows still being quite good in themselves, just not so great in the minds of the critics.  (But, I will say that I feel very sorry for the people that slogged through Glasslip.)  Shortly, I even hope to pick up all the summer 2014 shows I stalled and finish them by way of marathoning them–the most enjoyable way to watch any show.

Tokyo ESP is at the top of my list for that marathon.

Tokyo ESP is at the top of my list for that marathon.

At any rate, hence follows the list of shows I intend to try out next season along with a brief description of why.  To my mind, the list looks a little weaker than the one for the summer season.  Of course, some of these anime might hold some latent excellence.  Since this list concerns the shows I am not already sold on, I shall not include Hitsugi no Chaika 2 and Psycho-Pass 2.  How could I not watch the sequels to my favorite show of 2013 and my favorite show of the prior season?  Whether the sequels prove to be delightful or disappointing, I’m certain to watch through them both.  If they do prove disappointing, I hope that my complaints and vexation may at least prove enjoyable for you!

Sekai Trigger

1) World Trigger

Sounds like Freezing without the fanservice.  Fighting off giant alien invaders always sounds like an interesting premise for me, so I must give it a shot.

nanatsu-no-taizai mustache

2) Nanatsu no Taizai (aka The Seven Deadly Sins)

While perusing the aisles of Kinokuniya in New York City (the best Japanese bookstore on the east coast since the demise of Sasuga–yet another reason to hate the current recession), I came across this manga among the “Kono Manga ga Sugoi!” award winners.  With that endorsement, I purchased the volume one.  Though I have not yet gotten around to reading this Japanese edition yet, the artwork looks rather amazing and the action intense–big pluses in my book.  For the above reasons, I’m giving the anime a shot.  I really need to read volume one before it premiers.

3) Amagi Brilliant Park

Here’s an addition whose inclusion owes much to Caraniel’s excellent season preview post.  Before reading this post, I had not known that the author of Full Metal Panic was behind this series.  That’s all the endorsement a series needs in my book.  Though, I hope the dark and twisted psychological influences present in Full Metal Panic: The Second Raid are utterly, completely, and absolutely gone, lost, abandoned, forsaken, and anathematized from this new series!

4) Denki-gai Honya-san

Another comedy, this series of shorts involves the workers in a manga bookstore.  Can’t hurt to give it a shot.

Denkigai-no-Honya-san

5) Akatsuki no Yona

The manga version has the honor of being dropped by yours truly.  At a certain point, the plot and characters ceased to hold interest for me.  This does not exclude the anime version from outdoing the manga–as, exempli gratia, is shown in the cases of Knights of Sidonia and Saber Marionette J.  Especially as the scenario is rather interesting (though Rolan the Forgotten King executes a similar idea better), I am willing to give this story another shot.

6) Shingeki no Bahamut Genesis

Can’t be worse than that other Shingeki anime, can it?  (I jest.)  The preview boasts cool swordplay in a dark fantasy setting.  Worth a shot just for that.

7) Madan no Ou to Vanadis

Another show I wish to check out just because of its fantasy setting.  It must be confessed that this anime almost failed to make the list.  But, this preview promises the possibility of a fun show.  It could turn out to be another Blade and Soul, i.e. atrociously fanservicey and dull; but, one can’t know for sure until one tries it.

Garoo

8) Garo: Honoo no Kokuin

If you haven’t perceived it ere now, I’m a sucker for fantasy settings.  This one seems to have a good story.  A mix of Scrapped Princess and Chronicles of Lodoss War perhaps?

9) Inou Battle Within Everyday Life

Solely because Trigger is behind it.

10) Terra Formars

The plot sounds like a combination of the movies Starship Troopers and Mimic.  (I had no idea those came out in the same year.)  What’s not to love about a show about soldiers fighting giant man-eating cockroaches on Mars?  In any case, man-eating cockroaches are eminently preferable to man-eating monsters in human form–at least, to me.

Wakaranai

11) I don’t Understand What My Husband is Saying

My line-up this season is devoid of comedy except for Denki-gai Honya-san, so I feel compelled to give this show a shot.  Besides, few anime I know focus on married couples, so this should be interesting.

12) Whatever You Like

As long as my list is this long, I might as well add a twelfth show, right?  No, that’s not the name of an anime coming out next season.  Rather I’d like to invite my dear readers to recommend a series for me that’s not listed above.  Whatever most people tell me I should watch by October 1st, I shall watch!

Brains

I need to find time to watch the second season of Hamatora.

Within the first two weeks of the season, this long list shall be pruned by two-thirds, which means I’ll shoot for a total of six shows this season.  (I include Hitsugi no Chaika and Psycho-Pass in that sum.)  How does my list of shows to sample compare with yours?

21 comments on “Fall 2014 Anime to Try Out

  1. iblessall says:

    Shigatsu wa Kimi no Uso is a noitaminA series based on a decorated source manga, plus it’s actually getting 22 episodes. Might be one to keep your eye on.

  2. GoodbyeNavi says:

    “Man-eating cockroaches”? Count me out! I’ll probably watch it, haha! You didn’t include it but Psycho Pass 2 will be mentioned again in the comment section. Trigger usually makes good shows and I tend to enjoy them so Inou Battle Within Everyday Life may get a visit.

    • Oh, I did include Psycho-Pass 2 and Hitsugi no Chaika 2 among the shows I’m watching, but I have no doubts that I shall be watching them and so did not include them in the list of shows to be sampled. By doing so, I avoided the number thirteen. 🙂 And by asking for another recommendation, I can have a nice 12 show list.

      I’m keeping my fingers crossed concerning the show from Trigger. The plot seems so commonplace, but they can probably add a good dose of insanity to it. 🙂

      • GoodbyeNavi says:

        I meant you didn’t include it in your list. I just wanted to repeat that there was a Psycho Pass 2 because I’m excited about it! The number 13 isn’t too bad. Didn’t you look forward to 13 as a kid because then you were a “teenager”?

        Commented twice because I couldn’t edit and put the question mark in the first response.

      • I hate that one can’t edit one’s comments after hitting reply! Sometimes, I stare at my comments for ten minutes after I finished writing them just to make sure that there are no typos. xD

        The number thirteen can be a good number. There were thirteen original colonies after all, and America turned out well. Things didn’t turn out so well for the Templars on Friday October 13, 1307, which is the origin behind the myth of thirteen bringing bad luck; but, superstitious have odd origins. Can’t say that I looked forward to turning 13, but I took most things in a blasé manner as a kid. On the other hand, Psycho-Pass 2 is something to be excited for. I hope our heroes will take down the Sybil system!

      • GoodbyeNavi says:

        I hope they take down the Sybil system as well, but I have a sickening feeling that they won’t! But if it keeps with the spirit of Psycho Pass, it will be a fun ride and mind-blowing to watch.

  3. In this list, I have some familiarity with only Nanatsu no Taizai (which I read about while wandering in Tumblr) and “I don’t understand what my husband is saying” (which I learned about while wandering in…some image board containing an English translation of it). I only have a certain limit when it comes to action-packed series, and the former doesn’t seem to be staying within that limit, so yeah. As for the latter…interesting…though not interesting enough to rise to the top of my priority list yet.

    Oh yeah, I think I should thank you and a bunch of Gekkan Shoujo Nozaki-kun fans in Tumblr for getting me into that hilarious series by Izumi Tsubaki! Final episode of this season of the GSNk anime is already coming, too, and I remember reading the parts covered by the final episode preview before. And I’m still not bored of Tsubaki-san’s mood and moment killers. Also, I feel like a bunch of mangaka and their assistants might be able to relate to the troubles of Nozaki and his team/friends in the manga business.

    • You’re welcome! I love the comedy in Nozaki-kun. Only Sabagebu is funnier this season.

      What limit do you mean in the case of The Seven Deadly Sins? Too violent or fanservicey?

      Well, I hope that you find some others shows worthwhile!

  4. dmdutcher says:

    I think Garo is based on the live action sentai show of the same name; think Kamen Rider with a darker, grittier aesthetic:

    I’m just waiting till they all come out till I decide what to watch.

    • Interesting! I had no idea that a live action version of this show already existed. Well, people in the movie and TV industry tend to prefer tried and true stories. Which is why so many anime seasons end up being bland. But, I believe that this season shows some promise.

  5. Genki Jason says:

    This year has been great for anime so I don’t understand the negativity. I think you’re right in suggesting that it’s expectations not being met. Two examples are great shows like Zankyou no Terror and Space Dandy which didn’t match up exactly to Cowboy Bebop which is what so many people want from Shinichiro Watanabe. I bet people were burnt out watching so many titles as well.

    I’m watching some of the picks you made and for similar reason. Amagi Brilliant Park looks like it will be fun. Shingeki no Bahamut Genesis has great fantasy action – the PV totally blew me away – Psycho-Pass was one of the best anime to be made in recent years so how can I not watch the sequel!

    Garo is based on a massive live-action franchise with lots of TV shows and movies. It’s actually broadcast in foreign countries as well.

    • Genius like the kind found in Cowboy Bebop often doesn’t strike twice. I would love for Watanabe to produce something as great as that, though I agree that Zankyou no Terror is nothing to sneeze at. I might have to give Space Dandy a try soon.

      Indeed, many people feel burnt out by watching too much anime. I myself feel as though I start to lose my perspective as a Western fan of anime. Immersion in a culture is fun, but being immersed for too long makes it start to feel as ordinary as one’s own–even in the case of a culture as interesting as Japan’s.

      Shingeki no Bahamut had a great preview, and I’m hoping that the show lives up to it. The problems with the fantasy genre in particular is that so many plots and tropes are overused, and it is easy for a show which starts out compelling to spiral into mediocrity. Juvenal’s first satire shows that this was the case with epic fantasy even in the days of Rome.

  6. John Samuel says:

    No Log Horizon S2?

    And, yes, Glasslip has been an incredible disappointment this season.

    Then again, Hanayamata, Argevollen, and Gekkan Shoujo Nozaki-kun were certainly good enough to make the pain go away.

    I think I even spotted a Usagi Drop shout out in Hanayamata to add to THAT list in episode 9. 🙂

    • To watch Log Horizon S2, I’d have to watch the first season. It’s similarity to SAO is what dissuaded me from watching it the first time. But, I have heard good things about it. We’ll see whether it ends up on my watch list in the future!

      Those three shows were splendid. I stalled two of them, but I intend to pick them back up soon. And, if you want to pick up another comedy from this season–albeit, a black comedy–Sabagebu can rise to the level of humor found in Full Metal Panic Fumoffu!

  7. David A says:

    I’ll check and read about the shows from the new season later. For the moment, it looks promising. Even it has a new P.A. Works anime!

  8. David A says:

    Ok, impressions from some new shows:

    Terraformars: I saw the OVA that was published recently, while too violent, I guess this one is going to be one of the trendy shows of the season.

    Denki-gai no Honya-san: It looks like a comedy with perverted characters that look like little girls. Is being described as ecchi at one online manga reading site, so I guess my impression from the images and a bit of reading about it is not far off from the actual product.

    Danna ga Nani wo Itteiru ka Wakaranai Ken: I guess is similar to the last one. The drawings from the manga are very crude. Looks like one of these wish-fulfillment series with obscene jokes, etc. I don’t think is going to present a realistic married couple life.

    Garo: Is based on a live action show that has various series and a movie, I think. Tv Tropes (warning, time waster site) has lot of info on that show. I don’t like that armor design.

    Akatsuki no Yona: This one looks very interesting. The princess is beautiful and the style is nice too.

    Amagi Brilliant Park: Looks like KyoAni is trying another fanservicey series this time.

    World Trigger: I agree that this one sounds interesting.

    Nanatsu no Taizai: The premise is rather typical, and I dislike that the villains are “holy” knights, and the heroes ara named seven deadly sins… really cliched. Bad aristocracy, ruffians that really are good people, evil light-themed organizations, etc. Also the manga looks rather fanservice-y, and including some recent trends in characters (traps, homosexual characters, etc) but combines wiih a somewhat retro aesthetic.

    Ookami Shoujo to Kuro Ouji: This one looks interesting too. I guess is going to cause some polemic. (I’ve read some articles of people critcizing the treatment of girl in some Shoujo manga)

    Sora no Method: This looks promising too.

    Shingeki no Bahamut: Is based on an online card game, that features fanservicey angels, nuns, and female Priests and Bishops, besides the typical fanservice characters from these type of games.

    SHIROBAKO: From P.A. Works! I hope this time they make something good again. It doesn’t look like their usual productions

    Shigatsu wa Kimi no Uso: This one looks good too. The style and backgrounds are nice.

    Sanzoku no Musume Ronja: A Ghibli anime, so, high expectations about this one. The animation is cell shaded CG.

    Donten ni Warau: A period series, the story sounds interesting.

    Yuuki Yuuna wa Yuusha de Aru: Not much info about this one, but looks nice. I hope it doesn’t fall in some of this year’s trends for slice of life anime.

    • Thanks for commenting on those shows which I had not given much attention to. It seems like you and iblessall like Shigatsu wa Kimi no Uso, so I might just make that the twelfth anime on my list.

      The sole reason behind the armor design in Garoo is to instill fear into the opponent–very samurai. It’s interesting that Western armor concentrated purely on practicality of design while the Japanese took into account more of the psychological effects the form of armor might have. It might be asking to much to have a Japanese hero wear a sugarloaf helm and precisely angled body armor. xD

      I’ll tell you how I like the other shows after watching their premiere episodes.

      • David A says:

        You’re welcome!

        I’ve noticed that with the masks from Samurai armor. In this case, I think the elements look too busy, and the golden color doesn’t help (although it could have been worse, like a dark or red armor). In a way, it reminds me of some Chinese illustrations -used as videogame promotional images and concept art, for example-, while I like some of these, there are times when they go overboard with the details and design elements.

        Hahaha, yes, I don’t think is common to see Japanese heroes with such armors and helms.

        This year I’ve become more cautious before checking premiere episodes. With reading before watching them, I’ve thankfull avoided various productions. Other thing that tend to happen, is when a series introduces something problematic halfway the cour. Is frustrating at times. So, now, I can know what to expect with certain series and not invest lots of time that could be used for other things, or better series!

Legens, scribe sententias tuas.

