Is celibacy the new ex-gay? or: how I learned to stop worrying and love the clickbait

Josh W has a perspective on celibacy which people don’t often hear about. Many gays feel like the Catholic Church is against them because it does not recognize homosexual relationships as legitimate, but Josh W’s example proves that a homosexual can live a life faithful to God. This article reminds one of St. Paul’s letters in that it is better to be single because the single man can be more devoted to God than a married individual.

Res Studiorum et Ludorum

The Catholic Church’s explicit teachings on homosexuality are actually rather slim – meriting only three paragraphs in the Catechism. (2357-2359) And, naturally, those paragraphs have been picked apart to death by just about everyone who has an interest in this stuff and a blog.

But trying to apply them to my own life has been something of a complicated affair. When I first made the decision to live a chaste life – understanding that that decision meant in my case that I would have to be celibate, I drifted towards an approach which was problematic to say the least: if I was going to be celibate, I would just ignore my desires and sexuality. Sweep them under the rug entirely. I would live as if I was literally a eunuch.

While this sort of white-knuckle approach did accomplish in the short term the goal of continence, there was a problem…

View original post 1,123 more words

2 comments on “Is celibacy the new ex-gay? or: how I learned to stop worrying and love the clickbait

  1. Josh W says:

    My first ever reblog! Thanks!

    Like

Legens, scribe sententias tuas.

