Medieval Otaku Takes a Holiday

Well, dear readers, as you can see from the title, I have decided to place this blog on hiatus until the 151st anniversary of the start of the Battle of Gettysburg.  (To write more succinctly, July 1, 2014)  My posts feel belabored of late.  This means I need to perfect my hurricane before I can serve some refreshing articles to you.  After all, my best articles require me to make connections between anime, literature, and religion.  This leads me to the conclusion that I must use my leisure to study these things more; but, I want to leave you all with a final ramble.

Medieval Feast

While reading St. Thomas Aquinas’ On Prayer and the Contemplative Life, I discovered the three etymologies he offered for religion.  He draws the first from Cicero, who gives relegere, “to read again,” as the basis for the word religion, since the religious man reads things pertaining to worship repeatedly.  The next two come from the hand of St. Augustine, who claims that religion either derives from religere, “to choose again,” orthe most famous derivation–religandum, “binding again.”  The religious man chooses again those things which he has lost by his negligence–prayer, charity, virtue, holiness, etc.–and binds himself once more to the divine.  The three words above recall that religion is about perseverance.  If someone could be virtuous and follow all the precepts of the Church without effort, would we call them religious?  Maybe, but the man who falls and continues to turn back to Christ and metanoiein–to have a change of heart–every day strikes me as more religious.  Even Our Lord and Lady struggled in the maintenance of their spotless characters.

sacred-hearts-of-jesus-and-mary

People mess up, but God is always ready for our repentance–yet another important religious concept beginning with the prefix re-.  Let us use the month of June, dedicated to the Sacred Heart of Jesus Christ, to once again study His life, choose again the virtue, wisdom, knowledge, and grace contained therein, and bind ourselves yet again to the Fire of Divine Love emanating from this Heart.  We have already celebrated the feasts of Pentecost and Trinity Sunday.  Let us now prepare ourselves to remember Corpus Christi (June 22) and the Nativity of St. John the Baptist (June 24).  Then, this month will end with the feasts of the Sacred Heart of Jesus (June 27), Immaculate Heart of Mary (June 28), and Sts. Peter and Paul (June 29).  Let us remember the two hearts which love us best and the Church through which the fruits of Christ’s Sacred Passion purify and make fervent the hearts of believers daily.

WolfwoodVash

Besides my wish to study more some literature and religion, I hope to do away with my need for watching anime with subtitles by the end of the month.  In my last experiment, I found Manga-san to Assistant-san to easy to understand, Nisemonogatari ranging from average to impossible, and, at the beginning of Soredemo Sekai ga Utsukushii episode 9, I just caught the word tabi, “journey,” and realized that it was too hard.  May that give you an idea of my present listening skills!  To the end of improving them, I’ll study my kanji learner’s dictionary and read Busou Renkin and Slayers.  (I read only the finest literature, you see. 🙂 )  If I want to add something hard, Kinoko Nasu’s Kara no Kyoukai or Natsume Soseki’s Within My Glass Doors will find their way on my reading list.

kara-no-kyoukai-the-garden-of-sinners-2091353

You’ll still see me posting about literature and poetry on Aquila et Infans or American history and politics on Aquilon’s Eyrie.  Hopefully, these efforts will generate more interesting things to read by July 1st.  Should some kind individual claim that my articles are still interesting, I must also confess to wanting a break from this blog–even if just for about a fortnight.

The Sacred Heart of Jesus bless and keep you all!

5 comments on “Medieval Otaku Takes a Holiday

  1. Michael M. says:

    Enjoy your sabbatical! God bless you, and thanks for your posts, great to read them. I’m doing a similar blog about video games/anime and Christ. gamesandgod.wordpress.com Looking forward to you bringing back some good articles. Oh, and Slayers is one of the best animes…ever. Period. I love Zelgadis, he’s the man.

    Like

    • Thank you very much! I hope my little break proves fruitful. I do love Slayers also. The ending to the second season has to be one of the most gripping of any anime series. The only problem is that it made the following season seem dull in comparison–even though it’s pretty good in its own right! I’m also a great Zelgadis fan. It’s a toss up as to whether I like him or Lina Inverse more.

      Like

      • Michael M. says:

        Ah Lina is cool, but she’s so crazy and funny. I really like how the relationships play in that series. Yes, I agree that Slayers Try is pretty dull…doesn’t compare to Slayers Next. The movies are pretty ok too, Slayers Premium movie I believe it was. The last one was Evolution and Evolution R, which were great to see it come back in my opinion, but I honestly wanted to see the relationships grow into something more like them getting married or at least be IN an official relationship, but was sad (as a HUGE fan) to not see that.

        Like

      • I wasn’t sure about those last two seasons of Slayers. I confess to only having seen episode one of Evolution before deciding that it had changed too much. You remind me that I need to watch the movies at some point.

        But, the light novels are a lot of fun too. They’re told in the first person, so we get to read all of the ironic comments and sarcasm going on in Lina’s mind. Plus, it’s fun to see that Gourry is not quite as dumb as the anime portrays him–even using Lina’s exaggerated perception of his stupidity to deliberately aggravate her.

        Like

      • Michael M. says:

        Yup. I honestly never read too much of the manga, but I was a die-hard fan of the anime years and years ago some time after it came out. Premium is a good movie, but the other ones are…funny and silly, nothing major that your missing. Plus they are with Naga, who is just a weird character.

        Like

Legens, scribe sententias tuas.

