Five Western Animated Movies Anime Fans Might Love

This is a very cool post! Never knew America produced such dark and interesting cartoons.

3 comments on “Five Western Animated Movies Anime Fans Might Love

  1. MIB says:

    Have you seen any European animation? They are equally inventive, often dark and address serious issues.

    I recently watched (and reviewed 😉 ) “Wrinkles”, a Spanish animation about an Alzheimer’s patient. Of course you also have French outings such as “Belleville Rendezvous” and “The Illusionist” and I also recently reviewed a Russian a satirical sci-fi animation “Ku! Kin-dza-dza”.

    All worth a look in my opinion. 🙂

    Like

    • The only full length European animation that comes to my mind is A Monster in Paris. I very much enjoyed that work. And the Russian short D. M. Dutcher placed on his site was pretty cool too. I have also been informed that the Russians made an animation based on The Old Man and the Sea, which I’m eager to watch.

      I’ll definitely take a look at the titles you mentioned!

      Like

      • MIB says:

        I’ve seen Monster In Paris which I enjoyed only the UK release comes with the US dub only and not the original French soundtrack, which I am sure would have made all the difference re the cultural references and the setting. 😦

        Like

Legens, scribe sententias tuas.

