How I’m Enjoying the Season Thus Far

You’re probably wondering how I’m getting along this season.  My list of shows is still at nine, but that comes from me dropping two and adding two more.  Ranking them from favorite to least favorite, the order of shows would look like this:

  1. Hitsugi no Chaika
  2. Gokukoku no Brynhildr
  3. Black Bullet
  4. Soredemo Sekai ga Utsukushii
  5. Nanana’s Buried Treasure
  6. Mekakucity Actors
  7. Knights of Sidonia
  8. Mangaka-san to Assistant-san to
  9. Captain Earth

SDSU

Compared to my old list, this one has lost the sumo wrestling anime and Fuun Ishin Dai-Shogun.  The latter was particularly bad, and reading about the former deflated any desire I had to watch it.  What’s new to this list are Soredemo Sekai ga Utsukushii and Mangaka-san to Assistant-san to.  I am greatful to Lee Relph of MIB’s Instant Headache for recommending the former.  This comedic fantasy boasts some of the most likable characters this season.  The ups and downs of Nike and Livius’s romance, Nike’s exuberant behavior, and the intrigue surrounding Livius’ court make for a fun show.  Mangaka-san to Assistant-san to is hilarious, though I can see some people turning it down for the outlandish themes in its comedy.  If it were not so funny, I doubt that I could have made it through the panty episode, i.e. the very first episode.

Aito-san exclaims "Light!" in Japanese as he makes light of the master manga assistant, Sena Kuroi.

Aito-san exclaims “Light!” in Japanese as he makes light of the master manga assistant, Sena Kuroi.

There are two reasons Hitsugi no Chaika tops the list: 1) it’s based in the world of Scrapped Princess, one of my favorite shows and earliest anime in my career as an otaku; and 2) my ignorance of its story.  Otherwise, Gokukoku no Brynhildr is about as strong a show, but I’m familiar with the manga.  The anime sticks like glue to the manga’s story line, though it is fun to see it animated.  My last anime post pointed out a flaw in the action of Black Bullet, but for all that it well deserves the number three spot.

Akari Acura

Another blogger whom I need to thank for a recommendation is Overlord Bear for suggesting Mekakucity Actors to me.  It’s a very interesting show, animated in the vein of Bakemonogatari.  (Watching this is making me consider trying to watch Nisemonogatari again.)  Overall, the characters and action are only a little less enjoyable than those of Nanana’s Buried Treasure.  But, I’m greatly looking forward to the direction the plot takes us.

Momo of Mekaku City Actors

Along with Gokukoku no Brynhildr, I also decided to start reading the manga for Knights of Sidonia.  After ten chapters or so, I dropped the manga Knights of Sidonia, and found my enthusiasm rather killed for the show.  Basically, I came to dislike both the characters and the world in which Knights of Sidonia was set.  Why is it still on my list then?  I felt that it would be unjust to drop the anime because I didn’t like the manga.  After all, it is possible that the anime studio outdid the mangaka.  In this case, they certainly did: the characters feel more lifelike and the situation less grim.  (Not much less grim, but sufficiently so.)  The show could easily vault higher into the rankings.

If not for the threat of giant monsters, the future presented by Knights of Sidonia would consist of varying degrees of monotony.

If not for the threat of giant monsters, the future presented by Knights of Sidonia would consist of varying degrees of monotony.

Captain Earth owes its low position merely to the fact that I have not made time to watch it beyond episode two.  I was very excited for this show in the beginning and enjoyed the first couple of episodes before becoming distracted by other shows which seemed more interesting.  After all, mecha is not my favorite genre and we’ve seen the plot where a teenage boy suddenly becomes a giant robot pilot before.  But, the hero has guts and doesn’t appear two dimensional, so I’m going to start watching it again.

Well, that’s my situation this season.  I’m not sure whether any series will equal the classics of anime, but I hope that they will offer as much food for thought as they already have fun.

11 comments on “How I’m Enjoying the Season Thus Far

  1. You’re welcome, and I’m glad that you’re having some fun with MCA, medieval! By the way, I feel like watching it wouldn’t be fun for someone who wants to know everything about the series only through the anime. On another hand, I’m honestly enjoying SHAFT’s animation style, even the derpy inbetweener faces/models that show up from time to time! Eh, some don’t like SHAFT’s style, but how others think and look at things is beyond my control, you know, so I shouldn’t be losing my calm over things like that.

    Anyway…SoreUtsu…a comedy fantasy, huh…? I hope that it’s some sort of inspirational comedy…although slice of life comedy is okay with me, too…and then Hidamari Sketch suddenly popped up in my mind…ah, I really need some crazy, colorful, and inspirational comedy!

    • MCA is the kind of anime I watch for fun. It seems like they have the chance to make it a very deep show, but we’ve only had hints that they might take it that way so far. We’ll see.

      And SoreUtsu can be considered inspirational in the same way that The Count of Monte Cristo might be considered inspirational. Both Livius and the count have been wounded by the events in their lives and take a hardboiled approach to reality. In Livius’s case, can Nike make him see the beauty in living and other people again? The show is great fun to watch.

  2. MIB says:

    Thanks for the shout out! 🙂

    Glad you’re enjoying “Soredemo…” Aside from the corny gimmick of Nike having to sing to demonstrate her powers, it’s a fun and energetic show that mixes action, comedy and magic in one colourful package. And yes – Nike is anime babe crush material! 😛

    My personal favourite of the season is “Ping Pong”. It boasts the scrappiest animation and is about sport (which I hate) but is the most grounded and relatable slice of life show I’ve seen in a long while. I’m also enjoying “One Week Friends” (yeah, I’m a soppy git – sue me!) and “Soul Eater NOT!” 🙂

    • Soredemo Sekai ga Utsukushii’s a great show! Glad to know that I’m not the only person who likes Nike–two of her sisters were not bad looking either! I wonder if they’ll show up later?

      Those other three I haven’t gotten around to, and probably shouldn’t. I am also rewatching The Third: The Girl with the Blue Eye and seeing Nadia: Secret of the Blue Water on the side. And I have one more OVA of Mardock Scramble to go. (A good OVA, but some things about it make Elfen Lied look PG.) So, I have a full plate.

  3. David A says:

    I’m watching Mekakucity Actors too. I like the art style. Is a shame that the budget doesn’t seem to be very high. Low quality in-betweens, etc.

    It looks like Bakemonogatari (A show Idon’t think I’ll be watching), and some people have described Mekakucit Actors as a poor man’s version of it.

    I watched the first episode of PIng Pong, and the first two episodes of Captain Earth. I like the mech design, but it seems that suddenly the show went the fanservice route.

    • Oh, you might like Bakemonogatari. I rather enjoyed how quirky it was, and it managed to come across as both deep and humorous. The first episode of Nisemonogatari, on the other hand, drove me nuts; so I could not watch further.

      It surprises me that Captain Earth went the fanservice route. Oh, well. Few shows can resist that temptation.

      • David A says:

        Nisemonogatari is the one with certain infamous incest scene?

        Mekakucity has been improving in the recent episodes, the last one was pretty good.

      • Ah! I remember hearing something vague about a toothbrush scene. Now, that I looked it up, it seems to have included more than that. Well, that places Nisemonogatari toward the bottom of the list of things I might watch.

        I need to watch that last episode. So far, I’ve been intrigued, but I suppose one can’t tell how good a show is until one has watched it to the end.

  4. David A says:

    Yes, that scene. And the rest of things I have read about the monogatari series aren’t good either.

    The pace of the first episodes of Mekakucity was slow. But in recent episodes is beginning to take up.

    Heat haze daze was very sad. Poor kids.

Legens, scribe sententias tuas.

