Kill La Kill: A Love Story

A flawless masterpiece of critical interpretation! The article is the most thorough piece on Kill la Kill’s themes I have yet read. Very long, but worth reading!

Chromatic Aberration Everywhere

In the weeks following the Kill La Kill (KLK) finale, I’ve seen a lot of people weighing in on the show. Given it’s popularityover-the-top theatrics, and symbol-heavy plus textually-dense narrative, this isn’t anything too surprising. I really liked the show, and it’s inspired a lot of really cool discussion around the anisphere. People generally have a widerangeof opinions on any given show, and it’s been fun seeing all the different ways people have experiencedKLK.

That said, I’ve heard a lot of refrains that have been bothering me a little bit, which go like:

  • Tengen Toppa Gurren Lagann (TTGL) was just done better…”
  • “I couldn’t really relate to the characters, so I just never got into the story…”
  • “The show was thematically incoherent, so I’m not sure what was the point…”
  • “It was really entertaining, but I didn’t feel emotionally invested…”

And so…

View original post 8,384 more words

2 comments on “Kill La Kill: A Love Story

  1. Pat D. says:

    Well, can’t say I’m interested in Kill la Kill after reading that interpretation of it.

    Like

    • I wouldn’t be either to tell you the truth. But, I find it fascinating how he interprets Kill la Kill to be about the conflict between east and west.

      My own opinion is that Kill la Kill is a retelling of Aeschylus’ Oresteia with a particular focus on the corruption produced in the human heart by luxury and excessive greed. I have an article which should be posted on Beneath the Tangles on Monday dealing with its treatment of wealth. As for how Kill la Kill’s plot and setting imitates the Oresteia, I should have an article written about that over the weekend if not sooner.

      Like

Legens, scribe sententias tuas.

