Two Year Anniversary!

Well, dear readers, somehow I have managed to keep writing about anime and religion for two years.  This blog has narrowed its focus from all my hobbies and interests to mostly anime and religion.  After all, you won’t find articles like this on here anymore: Exploring the Brews of the Victory Brewing Company.  Though, you might find me writing about tea again.  And a couple of my reader’s favorite posts were on literature, but now I write about that in Aquila et Infans.  Here are two examples:

1) Fiction’s Raison d’Etre

2) Encore Une Autre Raison D’Etre pour Fiction

elfen lied anime wallpaper phi stars

Reading Froggy-kun’s post about what he looks for in an anime review made me think about my favorite type of article.  I prefer to pick up a thread in a particular anime and run with it rather than giving a thorough review.  When I try to give a review covering all aspects of a show, I usually miss some aspects or the article becomes scatterbrained or dull.  My “Hidden Gems of Anime” series shows this: Gokudo and Innocent Venus.  (You can see that I wrote them back at the time when I didn’t believe in using pictures.  My opinion on that changed a great deal!)  On the other hand, the articles focusing on a particular theme of a show feel like they’re written better, as is shown by the following:

vlcsnap-2012-12-24-02h10m14s145

1) Applying the Feminist and Mimetic Lens to Iria: Zeiram the Animation (My favorite post which hardly anyone read.  Every blogger has at least one.)

2) Mirai Nikki: The Heretic Successor of Elfen Lied (A favorite post which everyone seems to have read at least once. xD )

3) Kiba and Cheza’s Love as Symbolic of Jesus and Mary’s

4) The End of Samurai Deeper Kyo: All About Heart

5) Is Sexuality Natural or Aquired?: No. 6’s Take on the Issue

6) Dusk Maiden of Amnesia and the Problem of Pride

Amnesia-620x

But, this site also finds itself dedicated to Christian spirituality–specifically Catholic spirituality, but I hope my articles profit my Protestant and Orthodox readers.  (Do I have any Orthodox readers?  Not to my knowledge, but maybe.)  I doubt that Medieval Otaku would be unique without articles such as these:

1) The Problem of Evil and Spiritual Envy

2) De Liberalitate et Peccato

3) Prayer Maxims from a Novice

4) Feast of St. Joseph the Worker

St. Joseph the Worker

Ah!  But, I must confess, my dear readers, that I fall so short of my own advice!  I ought to study my old articles again and reapply myself to the devout life!  Along with St. Jerome, I must exclaim: “Hypocrite reader – my fellow – my brother!”  Whatever is good in them is the result of grace rather than from my sinful mind.  I can say without much vanity that some of the articles are indeed very good.  To aid the process of my conversion, I’m going to confession today–perhaps the best way to mark a birthday:

5 Indeed, I was born guilty,
    a sinner when my mother conceived me.

You desire truth in the inward being;
    therefore teach me wisdom in my secret heart.
Purge me with hyssop, and I shall be clean;
    wash me, and I shall be whiter than snow. (Psalm 51)

freeloader-illustration-1

Then, I am also grateful to this blog for introducing me to Sean Bishop.  I hope that his cartoon will be ready by the end of this year or the beginning of the next.  And then, I am especially grateful to those who still slog through so many of my lackluster articles to wait for the gems I occasionally produce; especially, TWWK of Beneath the Tangles, Genki Jason of Genkinahito, D. M. Dutcher of Cacao, Put Down the Shovel!, John Samuel of Pirates of the Burley Griffin, The Overlord Bear, David A, Zionista, Nami of The Budding Philosopher, Foxfier of Head Noises, Lee Relph of MIB’s Instant Headache, Japesland, Anime Commentary on the March, Naru of What is this “Culture” you speak of?, Cajun Samurai, Michelle Joelle of Soliloquies and GoodbyeNavi.  I suppose that’s all the people who have frequently commented on my blog.  I hope I didn’t miss anyone!  Anyway, without the interest shown by all my readers, I should never have continued writing for two years.

But, what would an anniversary post referring to all the above articles be without mentioning How to Weather the Anime Doldrums?  Even if that medium of anime, capable of producing some of the most extraordinary tales, begins to tire us, life is full of many other things to enjoy.

15 comments on “Two Year Anniversary!

  1. animecommentary says:

    I’m still here, friend – been rather busy with life issues. x.x You write some incredible articles, and your “Applying the Feminist and Mimetic Lens to Iria” one is particularly excellent. ^.^

    Like

    • I certainly know how life can bog down and cramp one’s blogging. Your name’s now up there with the rest of my frequent commentators. Thanks for taking time to read my articles!

      I’m happy that you enjoyed the article on Iria. I had so much fun writing that one, and when it was published, the silence from the aniblog community felt deafening. Oh, well, C. S. Lewis must have had a similar chagrin in having his own favorite work, Till We Have Faces, being the least popular of his fiction.

      Like

  2. dmdutcher says:

    Happy anniversary man, and may you write many more posts. You always write deep, thoughtful stuff. Keep on doing it!

    Like

  3. David A says:

    Congratulations!

    Like

  4. MIB says:

    Congratulations on your anniversary and thanks for the mention! 🙂 As it happens my two year anniversary is next Tuesday so we inflicted ourselves upon the Interwebz at roughly the same time! 🙂

    Keep up the good work and hope you get to celebrate many more anniversaries.:-)

    Like

  5. Kai says:

    Congratulations^^

    As for me, I just write my reviews with more of a “gut” feeling, if I can cover all the aspects I can think of, cool, if not, than fine 😀 My reviews sometimes tend to sound much more subjective than normal, then again, all reviews are, no?

    Like

    • I’d have to say most reviews are indeed subjective, but that’s what makes reading blogs fun. The only kind of subjectivity I could not stand would be if someone said “X is better than Homer.” That would be taking subjectivity too far!

      Like

  6. zeonista says:

    Congratulations on two years of blogging! Here’s to two years more!

    Like

  7. […] Additionally, Medieval Otaku, who has guested here and whom we frequently feature in this column, is celebrating the two-year anniversary of his blog.  Go congratulate him! [Medieval Otaku] […]

    Like

  8. Happy Blogiversary! You’ve created such a unique and wonderful perspective here, and I’m honored to be part of your community!

    Like

Legens, scribe sententias tuas.

