Favorite Anime of 2013

Well, the year 2013 is now past.  It offered many fun and interesting shows, and bloggers are writing about their favorites–either by genre or overall.  They are also looking at some of their favorite moments.  In my own case, I shall limit myself to declaring my favorite anime of 2013.

1gRzbE6pRIuS31kkVnppBP

The best anime Japan produced during the past year was Psycho-Pass, running from October 2012 – March 2013.  I love dark stories if they are done well and found the villain particularly fascinating.  (In case you were curious, Makishima Shogo also provided probably my favorite scene *spoiler alert* this year when he turned down the Chief’s offer for him to join the Sybil System.)  The writers also succeeded in adding many gray areas to the story which rendered it more intriguing: one wonders at times whether the society or the villain are more evil.  Then, the series’ allusions to literature rather than merely other anime and the way the characters question their current society make for an intellectual treat.  Finally, the characters all seemed rather unique, and the story shrouded itself with enough mystery that it kept the viewer on the edge of their seats wanting to pierce this veil.

psychopass3

In brief, the above reasons make Psycho-Pass stand head and shoulders above all the anime produced last year.  Shin Sekai Yori also gave us a unique vision of a dystopia, but the characters are hardly as interesting and certain episodes almost bore me to tears, which explains why I have stalled at episode 10.  (But, it has an awesome ending song–I’ll give it that.)  I also thought about giving Majestic Prince or Dog x Scissors this honor.  (Yes, I enjoyed the latter show more than is healthy, but everyone needs a guilty pleasure or two.)

Happy New Year to all my followers!  May the new year offer us many new great anime!

4 comments on “Favorite Anime of 2013

  1. Genki Jason says:

    Happy New Year.

    Interesting choices. I never watched Psycho-Pass but it’s getting a second season and the hype was big with it so I’ll check it out at some point.

    • It’s getting a second season? That sounds awesome! I have an idea of what kind of plot they’re going to have, and it should be a lot of fun to watch. Even though the first season ties up the main story, the show gave many possibilities for there being a second season.

      Happy New Year!

  2. Joanna Glass says:

    I really enjoy reading your posts about Psycho-Pass, especially, the one about Makishima. Will you be posting more with Season 2 out right now?

    I’m happy to have found your website where you connect Anime and Religion.

    There aren’t a lot of forums and blogs about Anime and Religion, so I tried getting a discussion going about Religious allusions in Psycho-Pass, here:

    https://www.reddit.com/r/anime/comments/2myxt9/psychopass_1_2_religious_mythological_allusions/

    • Thank you! I do my best to connect anime and religion and think that I do a decent job with Psycho-Pass. So far, I’ve written a short reflection on Psycho-Pass 2 for Thanksgiving. I’ll be sure to read that thread.

Legens, scribe sententias tuas.

