Crunchyroll Streaming Rurouni Kenshin!!!

I was ecstatic to learn that Crunchyroll is now streaming Rurouni Kenshin!  One can’t watch it until January 1st if one’s not a premium member, but that’s not a problem in my case.  For a moment, I feared that they would be streaming the European version of the English dub, which is horrible unless one wants a good laugh.  But, I heard the talents of Dorothy Menendez and Richard Hayworth, and my heart was set at ease.  Having heard the dub before the sub, I have developed an aversion to hearing Kenshin voiced by a women.  However, this did not bother me in Samurai X: Trust and Betrayal, where I prefer the sub–probably because Kenshin is younger during those events.

snapshot20120815195748

Seeing that announcement made me think that I was running a fever.

Anyway, here’s the thread about it: Rurouni Kenshin Holiday Special.  Cheers to Crunchyroll for the nice Christmas gift!

78038

 

8 comments on “Crunchyroll Streaming Rurouni Kenshin!!!

  1. animecommentary says:

    Ah, Rurouni Kenshin – one of the classics. Your comment about your aversion to Kenshin being voiced by a woman reminds me that Mayo Suzuki provided the voice for the character in the original Japanese.

    Like

    • Yes, she sure did. Some people loved her performance, and I do think that she did a great job. However, hearing a woman voice an adult male bothers the dickens out of me.

      Like

      • animecommentary says:

        Different strokes for different folks, I imagine – I can see how it’s off-putting, though. Women play male roles can be hit-or-miss; with Japan, Kenshin’s voice actress may be reversal of the kabuki trend of exclusively male actors.

        Like

      • That’s an interesting thought on the reversal of the Kabuki trend. I think that it has to do with trying to show Kenshin as gentle, unassuming, and yet capable of taking a hard edge when his dear ones are threatened–as many women are! But, there are also many men who have are as mild as lambs until a critical moment arrives. So, I wish that Japan had found their own Richard Hayworth!

        Like

  2. Nami says:

    I saw that and I am SO excited! Now that I’ve watched a bunch of the dub, I really want to watch the sub, as weird as it it’ll be to hear Kenshin with a woman’s voice. I have to wait till January to watch it though (college student with no money).

    Like

    • I tell you, hearing Kenshin voiced by a woman feels weird after the dub. It does work in Trust and Betrayal because Kenshin is just 15 or 16 at the time. But, hearing a 27 year old (my age) man sound so feminine doesn’t appeal to me.

      Like

  3. ale says:

    what episode is the first picture from?

    Like

    • It’s the one when Kaoru beats the final opponent at the Aoiya–the place that Misao’s group of ninjas own. Kenshin claims that he could hear Kaoru’s voice, and Sanosuke and Yumi think that he’s going crazy.

      Like

Legens, scribe sententias tuas.

