Tools of the Trade

As some of you may know, I write my articles with fountain pens before typing them out. Here’s a picture of my fountain pens:

20131103-215112.jpg

The second one on the page is a Levenger True Writer, my newest fountain pen. The third one was actually made for me by a friend of mine. Hopefully, you’ll see the results of my scribbling tomorrow!

6 comments on “Tools of the Trade

  1. Genki Jason says:

    Very classy. I carry a simple Bic pens and a notebook at all times.

    Like

    • That’s a good practice and much more economical. I used to write with rollerballs before I discovered fountain pens. For me, the slower ink flow and increased pressure one needs for writing with a Bic is similar to walking with iron balls and chains!

      Like

  2. Nami says:

    It’s so cool that you write things out before you type! My typing is so much faster than my writing that I don’t usually think to do that, unless I’m not near the computer. I feel like writing things down with a pen or pencil is slowly becoming a lost art.

    Like

    • You can say that again! After all, they don’t teach handwriting in public school anymore. In my own case, I notice so much more improvement after writing down an article on paper first that a scribbled first draft is almost mandatory for me.

      Like

      • Nami says:

        I can’t imagine not learning handwriting! It’s always weirded me out that my peers find print a faster way of taking notes than cursive anyway, but not knowing how to write in cursive *at all* is preposterous! Even one of my high school history professors made us handwrite one of our essays. It was just a good discipline to have. And practically speaking, what if all our electronics fail? *sigh* Even though I love technological advances, I must agree with Plato here.

        Like

      • I myself feel like I should spend more time memorizing things so that I can instantly recall them without the need of referencing a book. Plato did call writing the drug of the memory, and I feel like my memory was better before 6th grade, when the teachers began to make us take notes.

        But, I have read about someone who claimed modern cursive to be inferior to that extant in the 18th century. Apparently, we were taught a form of cursive more suitable for copyists than people who wished to write quickly and legibly. An interesting idea, and I wish that I could remember the name for that program of cursive which he developed.

        Like

Legens, scribe sententias tuas.

